This post just wants to illustrate the different levels, from 0 to 3, that broadly define the progressive BIM (Building Information Model) process. There is a certain level of uncertainty surrounding BIM and its meaning but we believe we made the point down here:

Level 0

No coordination across disciplines. Only 2D CAD tools are used to produce documentation.

Level 1

There is still no collaboration between different disciplines. 3D CAD tools used for concept works and 2D CAD tools for production. Standards data structure throughout the project is adopted. Common data environment created to share information electronically.

Level 2

All disciplines are coordinated, design information is shared through a common environment. Each discipline is working on its own 3D CAD project model, information is exchange between different parties in a combined model. Common file format is used (basically same software).

Level 3

There is full collaboration between all disciplines. A unique shared project model is used and all parties can access and modify it. There are advantages because it removes the risk for conflicting information, on the other hand this level of coordination requires a huge efforts from all disciplines that unwillingly have to disclose too many information at earlier stages.

But it is not finish yet, we also have these still vague levels that worth to mention:

Level 4

Analyse time

Level 5

Cost management

Level 6

Facilities management

For the post we have been inspired by “

The Bew-Richards BIM Maturity Model

”, instead Mr D. Tail has had his controversial view, as usual.

Also more info about BIM in our previous